Router Problem (D-Link)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Corndito, Sep 21, 2003.

  1. Corndito

    Corndito New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I did a few searches for my particular problem but didn't come up with any results. Anyways, I have a DI-614+ router that was working flawlessly up until a couple days ago. My home network consists of a laptop that I use to connect via wireless, and my desktop PC. For some reason I am unable to ping my desktop from my laptop and vice versa. Also, I seem to not be able to use the ping any websites or tracert commands at all without gettin an error message. Earlier I was able to use VNC and remote desktop with both comps, but now I am not having any luck. I can't even telnet to the old skool BBS setup by Datacom Guy :dunno:. Both computers have internet access and DHCP is enabled on both. The private IP's are 192.168.0.100 and 192.168.0.101. I subscribe to COX. Anyone have any ideas what the hell is wrong here?
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    So regular internet access works fine on all of them?

    Try switching the machines to different ports on the router.
     
  3. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    I hated that router. I got rid of it.
     
  4. Corndito

    Corndito New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I think that's going to be my course of action. I've tried everything I can with this thing. I think it's possessed.
     
  5. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    thats the same router I've got. Just the other day suddenly I wasn't able to log onto my server through ftp and i havne't been able to since... i wonder if our problems are related at all?
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::rofl::rofl: I'll leave out my 'anti-d-link' preaching on this one. :rofl:
     
  7. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl: I just got rid of a d-link router and got a new netgear one - the d-link was REALLY pissing me off and I tried contacting their "customer support" for months and was never able to reach a live person :mad:
     
  8. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA


    I did too. I think he has the right idea though in looking for a new one.
     
  9. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    yeah I went to the wireless Netgear MR814 and it works perfect! :big grin:
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I never had a problem with using D-Link until this summer when I was building a couple of machines at work and one of them had a D-Link NIC in it. It didn't have a driver disk (the machine was built from salvaged parts), so I went to their website to get the drivers. Turns out the card doesn't exist... Strange since I have two of them :dunno:
     
  11. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek: that's the one I went with too :bigthumb:
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Good choice!
     
  13. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    :bigthumb:
     
  14. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,487
    Likes Received:
    614
    That one is good? I'm on the MR314 and I have some connection problems with comcast. The connection slows down over a few hours then drops and I have to reset it. I decided to just use it as a switch, and use my linux box to do my routing. It works fine.
     

Share This Page