router ports?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CHiEFTAiN, Jan 4, 2005.

  1. CHiEFTAiN

    CHiEFTAiN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOR*CAL
    i just got a wireless router (AirLink+ Wireless Router from Fry's for $18 and wireless adapter for $13, offer good til 1/04/05). i set it up with all of the default options for 2 pc's in the house. now, the pc with the wireless adapter is the pc i use for most of my downloading. my problem is that dc++ seems to be slow. i get no response when i search. do i need to open a specific port or is it just slow because of the adapter.

    btw, adapter has speed of 54 Mbps and i use sbc global dsl.
     
  2. Grayham

    Grayham New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ithiaca is gorges
    Yes
     
  3. CHiEFTAiN

    CHiEFTAiN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOR*CAL
    hmm... now how do i know what port i should i assign it to? i've gone through teh manual but the damn jargon frustrates the hell out of me. there are so many acronyms, im so confused
     
  4. Grayham

    Grayham New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ithiaca is gorges
    From the DC++ help file:

     
  5. rightdownupleft

    rightdownupleft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    24,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Live:Pittsburgh,PA From:Buffalo,NY
    make sure you change the defauls for encryption!!
     

Share This Page