Router Issues Please Advise

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SoSlowDx, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. SoSlowDx

    SoSlowDx The reason i watch The Price is Right

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Slower Delaware
    Ok so last night everything worked fine and dandy. I get up this morning and BAM nothing. I have my Cable Modem wired into my Linksys G router and then it splits off to my PC and to my Xbox. All the lights blink and shows it has a connection. But i get know intraweb response. So when i disconnect all the wiring and hardwire modem to PC i have connection. Is my router out of the blue dead? Even though it still is showing it has a connection?? :dunno: Does this mean its time to invest into a new router? I need my XBL!!
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    is this a one time thing? just reset the router
     
  3. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    3
    All programs>Accessories>Command Prompt> ping www.google.com

    = anything?

    All programs>Accessories>Command Prompt> ping 64.233.183.99


    = anything?

    ipconfig/all

    = anything?
     
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I wouldn't count out the router. Linksys is absolute shit as far as routers go.
     
  5. SoSlowDx

    SoSlowDx The reason i watch The Price is Right

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Slower Delaware
    so i was on phone with PSUPef2k and he was helping me out. He thinks the router crapped out. Like i said we ran cable from Modem to PC and i have connections. But soon as i route it BAM stops working. Gets a very very small signal. We connected to the 198.16.1 blah blah blah place and on the web and he was checking shit out and we reset router and everything. Weird thing is the MAC address changed. So either ISP is fucking with me or router really did take a crap. Oh well will get a new one sometime. I just hope running line from Xbox to Modem will work.
     

Share This Page