Router Help - D-Link DI-604

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Spiral Out, Dec 20, 2003.

  1. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I am trying to connect to Steam. I followed the exact instructions on the D-Link website to open up the specific ports and everything like that. I tried to connect and it wouldn't. I reset the router and my computer and it still doesn't work. It is almost as if the connection request is blocked at the router but I followed the instructions to a T. Any ideas?

    The setup is:

    Cable Modem ----> D-Link Router ------> Two computers

    One computer is running '98 and the other is running XP Home
     
  2. QuanSta"

    QuanSta" Guest

    maybe its the way you have your RJ45 cables set up...

    there are two different way's to wire it.. only one will work.
     
  3. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    If I can get Internet access how would that effect my connection to Steam?
     
  4. Pogi

    Pogi Official Pointy Boot Guey Ver 1.0

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    7,958
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    North Of Chi-town
    just set your box that you are using, make it the DMZ and just get your game and wala! meh
     
  5. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I tried that and it still didn't work...:hs:
     
  6. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Anyone?
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :dunno: Destination IP correct? (Of the machine you're routing to)

    Throw out the D-Link and get something else. Wala! Problem solved. :rofl:
     
  8. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i am too lazy to look up: what is steam?

    sounds like an internet game? streaming something? you probably need to forward certain ports on your router to the machine on which you want to this service. what those ports are will depend on what steam is.
     
  9. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i have dlink as well and i didnt have to do anything to play steam/counterstrike
     
  10. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    however to create my own server, i had to forward a few ports
     
  11. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    This is what D-Link told me to do:


    If you are experiencing router reboots, try using the crash recovery method and reflashing an earlier firmware. To crash recover:

    Step 1 With the unit unplugged, press and hold the reset button. Hold the button for at least ten seconds after power up.

    Step 2 Statically assign an IP address to your computer in the same IP subnet range: 192.168.0.x where x is any number between 2 and 254. Your Subnet Mask should be 255.255.255.0.

    Step 3 Open Internet Explorer and browse to 192.168.0.1. You should see the crash recovery page. Browse to the location of the firmware on your hard-drive and click the send button.

    Your router should now be stable and ready to configure.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Maybe I misread your post.. but doesn't seem that you're having router reboot problems?
     
  13. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm not but that's the solution they gave me...

    I e-mailed them back telling them that so we will see what they say now. I think I might just go get another one and take back the one I have. :hs:
     
  14. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Just don't get another D-Link.. :x: :rofl:
     
  15. Spiral Out

    Spiral Out Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Can't return the one we have...
     

Share This Page