SRS Roommate issues...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by surferrosa, Mar 3, 2007.

1. surferrosa

surferrosa New Member

Ok, I'll try not to make this too long. I'm a sophomore in college, 21 years old, and living in a substance free dorm. I'm not against alcohol or anything, but I have an issue with my roommate. She gets drunk almost every night and comes back to the room really late, usually around 2 or 3. I have class every day at 8 am, so I try to get to bed around midnight or so. I feel she is being very inconsiderate by turning on the lights and talking to other people either in person or on the phone. I have approached this issue with her before, and things changed for a couple of days, but now it's back to the same old thing.
    Last night she got arrested for being drunk in public, being underage, and assaulting an officer. She wasn't taken to jail or the hospital though. She told the officers what room she lives in and my name, and an officer came and woke me up. She had fallen asleep in the basement of our dorm, and when I got down there she was still handcuffed and was screaming at the officers. So after we (the 3 officers and I) get her back to our room, I was told to keep an eye on her and to call if she left the room or showed signs of alcohol poisoning.
    I feel like this was the thing that really set me over the edge with her. We don't talk, and most of the time she acts like I'm not even there. My question is, what should I do about this? I'm thinking I might request a roommate change, but I'm worried that the process to do that would take a long time and the time I'll have in the new room would only be a couple of weeks. Should I try to talk to her again and hope things change or should I go ahead and request a room change?
    I'd appreciate any and all replies. Thanks.

Sorry, no cliffs.

2. Lateralus

Lateralus New Member