GUN Romanian AK Q

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Swoop411, Sep 3, 2005.

1. Swoop411

Swoop411 New Member

I just picked up a "new" romanian AK and I loaded a mag...then tried to chamber a round. No dice. My Marine Corps days took over and I instinctively went for the forward assist....AK doesnt have one. So is this weapon trashed or am I doing something wrong here? I tried several more times and it seems like the bolt isnt working correctly. Like its sticking halfway home. The round slips easily into the chamber if I just drop it in, so I know its not incorrect ammunition. Any help is appreciated.

2. blkgs4

blkgs4 New Member

Slam the bolt home...I'm no AK expert but that should work. If not I dunno.

3. kellyclan

kellyclan She only loves you when she's drunk.

After the obvious clear the barrel, clean the barrel, check the ammo, don't ride the handle, etc, just give it a shove. Break off the cover and check the spring and bolt for proper assembly.

4. soccaian

soccaian New Member

yeah, dont ride the changing handle... just pull it back and let it go.

5. striker754

striker754 Chillin

ejector probably needs to be ground down some. or the rails/bolt need oil.

6. xikar

xikar New Member

Remove the loaded mag from the weapon and move the charging handle back and forth after oiling it properly. I had this problem with one of mine and it just needed to be broken in. Functions flawless now.

7. Swoop411

Swoop411 New Member

Cool.....thanks. I will have to try that when I make it back home.

8. might be a bad mag holding the bolt back.. also, AK's usually come covered in cosmoline, is there brown goo dripping out from within the cracks? if so, get yourself some brake cleaner, spray the fuck out of that thing, and blow it out with an air hose, and then oil it up good.

9. jung918

jung918 Member

Tap, rack, bang!

10. Swoop411

Swoop411 New Member

no tap rack bang with this thing....the bolt wont go home so no bang period yet

11. 2L Bunny