Ridiculous computer problem (non-specific browser related)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BLoG, Apr 8, 2004.

  1. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,913
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Machine = p2 IBM Aptiva
    win98 (first edition)
    internet = roadrunner

    Boot computer, everything is fine. About 5 minutes in, web browsers (IE, netscape 7, firefox) all stop working. They simply time out for any and all websites. Computer still can communicate with network with every other friggin network app. OE, FTP, Ping, you name it. They all work.

    Tried running a little tcpipfix app, tried re-running inetwiz

    Client bought a copy of Spyhunter and had it remove shit.

    I installed Adaware, Spybot, Cwshredder, set them to max aggression and found a few things, but nothing that helped.

    I cleaned out startup via msconfig, hijackthis, and poking around in the registry.

    I did a win98 overlay install from the cabs on the system, STILL has the same problem.

    WHAT THE FUCK?
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2004
  2. Hackers are stealing your megahurtzes. Since it's only a p2, it only takes them 5 minutes to steal them all.
     
  3. Matt-AWD

    Matt-AWD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38,663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    OR
     
  4. Loopy

    Loopy What do you think happens when you get too far fro

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    10,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    :dunno:

    Maybe a BHO, or a problem with writing cache or history?
     
  5. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,913
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yeah we all know win98 sucks a fat cock. But this guy isn't gonna stop bugging me, and I'm not gonna be able to format/reinstall his machine.
     
  6. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,913
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Removed all BHOs, he had plenty of hd space, and I'd think a ceche/history problem would affect only one browser :sad2:
     
  7. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,913
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    anyone? :hs:
     
  8. Matt-AWD

    Matt-AWD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38,663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    OR
    Try a different NIC
     
  9. Ziggy!Talon

    Ziggy!Talon Guest

    check the network card and cables....
     
  10. Antistatic

    Antistatic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX.
    If it's the original install of 98 there is probably no hope, best option is a full reload. :hs:
     
  11. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,913
    Likes Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Anyone else :big grin:
     
  12. upparoom

    upparoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    94,030
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Houston
     
  13. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Guest

    alright since you are still on the network yet cant get out of your local network, you know its internet specific.


    You are on a router, right? Check your DHCP lease settings. Quite possibly its just running out and not autorenewing.


    Secondly, need to know a little bit more about how you're connected. Static IP I am assuming? What kind of connection? What hardware are you on? Is it a direct connection to the net, through a router or through a firewall? Or what???

    :)
     
  14. Tommy

    Tommy Long Member Standing

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    65,883
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NYC
    When the websites time out, is more of a temporary freeze?

    If he doesn't have a router and is directly connected to the cable modem, go into your TCP/IP properties on the NIC and turn off DHCP and give it an IP address of something like 192.168.0.111 . The modem takes the IP address from Road Runner so it doesn't matter what address you give the NIC card.
     
  15. Gromer

    Gromer Strange things are afoot at the Circle-K!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    72,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    If the system is behind a router, try connecting the modem directly to the system to eliminate the router out of it.
     
  16. èpic

    èpic aka modernlife

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia

    I stopped reading right there.
     
  17. scrotomus

    scrotomus you're a scumbag

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    70,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    install all patches 98?
     
  18. RotorBalls

    RotorBalls Gonz

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Messages:
    47,411
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    RBWH
    You can ping names and numbers?
     
  19. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    hardware
     
  20. èpic

    èpic aka modernlife

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    software
     
  21. RotorBalls

    RotorBalls Gonz

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Messages:
    47,411
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    RBWH
  22. Tommy

    Tommy Long Member Standing

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    65,883
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NYC
    firmware
     
  23. RotorBalls

    RotorBalls Gonz

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Messages:
    47,411
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    RBWH
    rip and reinstall TCP/IP
     
  24. èpic

    èpic aka modernlife

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    user error
     

Share This Page