Ricey's novice BJJ log

Discussion in 'MMA Training Logs' started by Ricey McRicerton, Jun 18, 2008.

1. Ricey McRicerton

Ricey McRicerton New Member

Neon Belly

I guess I'll start one of these as kind of a journal for myself to go back and check out on occassion.

I attend Pendergrass Academy of Martial Arts, which is a Gustavo Machado affiliate school. Our instructors are Rob and Guy Pendergrass. Both are great guys and brown belts under Guga.

I've been doing BJJ for about 2 years now, going twice a week. I've competed in a couple tournaments, but they were right when I first started training and I didn't do very well. I haven't really had the urge to compete since them, and would rather help my school out by working the tourneys. :hs:

I'm a 4 stripe white belt (don't know if the stripes are common at other school, or just gustavo machado affiliates) and would eventually like to get my blue belt.

Monday we worked on open guard stuff. Mostly trying to keep inside control when you're standing in open guard and the person on the ground is trying to get their feet on your biceps for spider guard.

I stayed and rolled 4 rounds, and did well. I swept our 225lb purple belt, which is big for me.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  2. Ricey McRicerton

About 2 months ago I felt like I was very stagnant, so I asked one of the instructors what I could do to try and do better.

I was having a lot of trouble with sitting in the guard and working so much on sweeping that I wasn't really being a threat. He told me to grab a couple of attacks I like (which ended up being the armbar and triangle) and focus on those time after time after time. That's helped me more than any single other thing I've ever learned from them.

3. Bausk

Bausk New Member

Yeah stripes are common. Good luck on your log. :bowdown:

4. Ricey McRicerton

Good lord. Been sick off my ass for the past week and a half. I'm finally starting to get where I don't feel poorly.