Review of Angeles Crest

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by ChatChai, Jun 28, 2006.

1. ChatChai

ChatChai OT Supporter

For those of you that don't know where this is here:

[​IMG]

This road apparently runs 29 miles to NewCombs Ranch. Many motorcyle riders of all varieties ride here quite often. In fact weekends are insane and have said to be about over a 100 bikes. This weekend I'm sure will be even be more crazy.

This is my first time on the highway yesterday so expectations were high. Of course again I writing as a sport bike rider and not a cruiser otherwise a great road for cruising. Well I got up there yesterday and there were few bikes on the road. I guess the common thing to do is take the road until you hit Newcombs Ranch, which is a restaurant 29 miles in. At the restaurant there were about twenty or so bikes. The actual highway runs about 66 miles or so. I frequent Azusa Canyons down through Mt. Baldy often and I have heard so much hype about the legendary "Crest." All in all I was not very impressed. The first stretch up and the last stretch down is by the far the best area. Long sweeping turns and especially if its your first time you have to be careful for those decreasing radius turns. The other half was horrible though I was told you would get used to it. It is very bumby. Cracks that was slightly raised scattered the remainder of the road horizontally. This made for a slightly uncomfortable ride. In addition I was afraid to take the turns as agressively in fear of just skipping off the road.

Has anyone been on the remainder of the road after Newcombs Ranch? Is it the same shittiness thus the reason for nobody going? It goes all the way to Wrightwood which would be pretty cool since that would be closer to where I live. Well just thought I would throw up my review of the "Crest." Any suggestions for next time welcome.

2. Jerm

Jerm I