A&P Resize program?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by mikmit, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. mikmit

    mikmit :o? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    what do you guys use to batch resize images? i use lightroom but its a pain having to sort through my pics and rotating the ones that need to be rotated and then sort blah blah blah...

    is there anything that automatcially recognizes the way (horizontal or vertical) a photo was shot and then resize it to say 600x800 or 800x600? im just trying to make some samples
     
  2. nine

    nine OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    16,267
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    so. cal.
    my camera has an autorotate thing that lightroom recognizes.

    i dont use it though.
     
  3. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,600
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    in LR. Right click > export> resize > long edge 800px
     
  4. mikmit

    mikmit :o? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    ahh didnt know that existed. that works for batch jobs though?
     
  5. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,600
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    Select all > export with previous

    ???
     
  6. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    vso resizer is the easiest way.
     
  7. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit
    I use that once in awhile too
     
  8. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use acdsee pro for batch jobs like resizing or renaming large number of pictures.
     
  9. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm currently using Adobe Bridge.

    You have to rotate the images manually by selecting the ones you want to rotate, but then I import into Photoshop and use it's scripting feature to resize, auto contrast etc in bulk.
     
  10. SkiMax

    SkiMax OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    26,738
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Chicago
    this is what I use, unless i'm going to edit in photoshop... then i export full size and then just resize in photoshop...
     
  11. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    photoshop action
     
  12. psykosis

    psykosis Go placidly amid the noise and the haste

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    123,757
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Listing between sin and salvation
    I use faststone image viewer for basic adjustments like that, and to proof photos before loading them into PS for editing. I shoot a lot of concerts, and a solid half of my shots are garbage, so i cull through them with this software. It has batch resize also. Dunno about auto-rotate, since my camera does that for me.
     
  13. iRate

    iRate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wiscompton
    I have a script written in OSx that everything I put in a folder called "resize" resizes to 800x600. I also do it within preview if I need one for a different size.
     
  14. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. SonicYan

    SonicYan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    This.
     
  16. Gvidon

    Gvidon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    16,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Or you can simply select Small format jpeg in camera settings.
     
  17. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
  18. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    xp power toy.

    select images to resize, rightclick>resize to 800
     
  19. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    does that work under win7?
     
  20. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    on the mac I use graphic converter
     
  21. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    oh man i have no idea, im currently on windows 2008 server :o

    what i have is "phisher resizer" which is basically the same thing
     
  22. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    I built a workflow in automator...
     

Share This Page