Removing data plan on 3g iphone?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cftofu2k, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. cftofu2k

    cftofu2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Is it possible with ATT and still be able to use wifi?
     
  2. Uncle Phil

    Uncle Phil OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    25,142
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
  3. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Yes it is possible...but just not worth it. The chances of 'accidentally' using 3g or Edge for internet and being charged insane amounts of $ for data are there.
     
  4. convolutedmind

    convolutedmind Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss e

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    WiFi isn't provided by the cell phone service provider, so I see no reason why it wouldn't work.
     
  5. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    i didn't think at&t would allow you to have an iPhone without a data plan.
     
  6. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    To make this work...you will need to do the following:

    1-Jailbreak phone
    2-Install SBSsettings or Bossprefs
    3-Turn off both 3G AND EDGE networks

    AT&T will let you have an iphone on your plan with no data...the problem people have is using an iphone 3g and using an Unlimited MediaNet, AT&T doesn't like that and will change your data plan to the iphone one.

    Sidenote: If you 'accidentally' use internet even with 3G and EDGE turned off you will be raped financially...AT&T charges per KB.
     
  7. gthesob

    gthesob the fun machine took a shit and died OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    11,964
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    SoCal
    Any modern phone transmits it's model number along with your signal. So when they see you're using a smartphone without a data plan they pounce on you.
     
  8. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Negative...they see more potential $$ when you accidentally use MediaNet without an internet plan.

    They only 'pounce' when you are using normal unlimited medianet ($15) on a smartphone or iphone.:noes:
     

Share This Page