Remove Taskbar from Windows Shell

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by crayzass1, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. crayzass1

    crayzass1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    thats all im looking for. Ill take a shell replacement, but its gotta be good an not buggy. :)
     
  2. Missile Command Kid

    Missile Command Kid New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Do you want it completely gone? I've got a small utility that hides it, but you can still use the windows button to access the start menu. Send me your email address if you're interested (thread/pm).
     
  3. crayzass1

    crayzass1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    yes, hiding it completely but sitll having the start menu when i absolutely need it would be nice.
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    How about just going into the taskbar properties and turning on auto-hide???

    Speaking of shells, I use Aston Shell and it's pretty good. Much better than explorer.

    www.astonshell.com
     
  5. crayzass1

    crayzass1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    already do it, but its still there. i want it gone while still running explorer.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ok, I guess I'm lost as to what you want...

    You want it completely gone?? How will you access the start menu and programs without it?

    I wonder how the program Missile Command Kid menioned is any different than using auto-hide?
     
  7. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,422
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    With autohide, its still visible as a 1-2 pixel wide bar across the bottom. I guess he doesn't even want to see that. No idea why though. If he's using a CRT, he could always adjust it so he doesn't even see that.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if you replace explorer.exe with another shell in the registry, it will not show up.
     
  9. crayzass1

    crayzass1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    right, i dont want to see those 2 pixels of a hidden taskbar either.

    why? does it really matter?

    Im using ObjectDock now, it has an option to hide the taskbar completely.
     
  10. Missile Command Kid

    Missile Command Kid New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    With the program I sent, it's completely invisible. You can use the start button to access the start menu, and I've got an OSX-like dock at the bottom to show and hide the taskbar at will in case I need access to it.
     
  11. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Gotcha...
     
  12. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I finally broke down and decided to try this whole AstonShell nonsense, All i can say is WOW. This is going on every WinXP comp i get my hands on.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Ugh, that shit is so unstable. :ugh:
     
  14. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Um... no...

    I have been running it for almost a year now and it hasn't crashed even a third of the time explorer does...

    Have you ever used it, or you just think it sucks?
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, I have used it. I thought it looked good, but it was horribly unreliable. Explorer, on the other hand, is rock-stable for me.

    I use gentoo at home, and even gnome isn't as stable as explorer is.
     
  16. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Must be bad luck then...
     

Share This Page