Remotely logging off logged in users?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Dec 4, 2003.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :confused:

    I RDC into my Win2K Adv Server box running terminal services.. Our connection here at the office went down for a few minutes, and my user is still logged in the terminal server. I can login again, but I need to know how to remotely end the first session, so I can run some of the apps I was running agan.

    Help. :hs:
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    logoff.exe from the resource kit?
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I don't think I have the resource kit.. if I do, its at the same location that the box is. (60 miles away) :hs:
     
  4. Supadoggie

    Supadoggie I ♥ my doggah

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    32,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    if you're running advanced server you should be able to have multiple Remote desktop/terminal service sessions

    then just go to terminal services manager and end the session
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    bingo. Just right click the connection and you can reset it.
     
  6. Supadoggie

    Supadoggie I ♥ my doggah

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    32,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    wait.. if you got disconnected then you should be able to login with the same account and resume that session....
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I never thought of that. :uh::uh::uh:

    Shows how much I play with term services. :rofl:
     
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :bigthumb: but kill -9 [pid] is so much easier!
     
  9. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i was speaking of linux :hs:
     
  10. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,624
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    2k TS must be different than XP.

    When I log in with the same username is resumes my session.
     
  11. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Depends. If the user is logged in graphically (through a display manager), as most desktop users are these days, then you can log them out by killing X or by killing their window manager session. I've done it many a time :bigthumb:
     
  12. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,624
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You can log people out when they are on a CLI too. Just kill their shell. Or if they are loged in remotely you can kill their SSH process. :big grin:
     
  13. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :spank:
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :doh: Of course, that makes sense. I didn't think of that.
     
  15. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,624
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    It is by far not the cleanest way to do it, but it works. On my current system I did it to another connection of mine and now it is stuck saying there is one person logged in even I know there isn't anybody loged in. :mad:

    Anybody know how to fix this? And don't say reboot. :x:
     
  16. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    bah! I just had the same thing happen... i'm not sure how to get rid of it either... i KNOW that the user was ousted and is no longer connected, but when i do a "who" it still shows him as being in there.
     
  17. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe a zombie process hanging somewhere?
     
  18. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Reboot? :ducks:
     
  19. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, could be.
     

Share This Page