A&P Remote Shutter Release

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by peoplescar, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. peoplescar

    peoplescar Guest

    I just got one for my Nikon and i can't figure out how it works? call me stupid but the thing has the battery in it and i put the camera on the remote shutter setting but get nothing. is there a light on the remote shutter button that lights up when i hit the button? maybe the battery they sent me is bad :dunno: there is a little bulb on the front of it but i'm thinking its the remote piece and not a light.
     
  2. NJGuy

    NJGuy "Fuckmefuckmefuckmefuckmef uckmefuckmefuckmefuckm OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wtf, USA
    Dunno about shitkons but with my canon I have to put it on self timer then use the remote from the ffront of the camera where the IR sensor is located.

    Also for the miror lockup to work with the remote I must go into the functions and set it to activate.
     
  3. peoplescar

    peoplescar Guest

    oh ok. i'll try it out. didn't have the camera facing me when i did it but i didn't think that mattered.
     
  4. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    what camera do you have. you need to set the camera to remote mode.
     
  5. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0

    yes, that matters. For the wireless remote the camera has to pick up the IR signal via the front of the camera (there's a little reciever just above the D70 badge, looks like a black plastic cutout) It's probably in similar places on other models.
     
  6. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    has anyone built a little mirror that sits above the IR sensor so you can stand behind it and shoot to the mirror and have it reflect into the sensor?
     
  7. Mr_Penut

    Mr_Penut Elitist Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    30,673
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kanadia
    use a cable
     
  8. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM

    what if I already have a wireless remote :mamoru2:
     
  9. Mr_Penut

    Mr_Penut Elitist Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    30,673
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kanadia
    then use it for group shots like it was designed for
     
  10. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    indeed but if you makle tests, you'll see that it works from quite everywhere except almost dead center.

    On my D80 I can shoot anywhere from 10 degrees off dead center with the remote.
     

Share This Page