Remote Procedure Call weakpoint help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Marcos, Sep 23, 2003.

  1. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I tried to disable RPC. As i just reinstalled windows. But it doesnt let me adjust these settings:

    [​IMG]

    Im logged in as administrator.

    :dunno:
     
  2. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    i saw this in a message thread:

    > In an ideal world, everyone would be patched by now. The problem is, this is
    > not an ideal world, most people will still be unpatched. As for best practices
    > - have you ever tried disabling RPC? It's not actually possible - in fact,
    > WinXP and 2003 will automatically reboot if RPC stops. As for DCOM - the
    > setting to disable it is a suggestion only, and applications can and will
    > re-enable it whenever they use it, or else they'll just plain break. So which
    > "best practices" are you talking about? Are you planning to install a separate
    > firewall for every machine? If so, maybe I should buy some stock in Zone Labs
    > or ISS...!

    dunno if it's true :dunno:
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Ive urned it off before, worked fine last time, just doesnt allow me ont his machine :confused: :dunno:
     
  4. jayrod

    jayrod Lurker extraordinaire...

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    why do you want to disable the RPC?

    I'm no windows god, however, I'm fairly certain the RPC is a vital service.

    If you're having trouble with RPC errors and your system rebooting, you can change the way windows reacts to an RPC error and stop it from auto-restarting.

    I'm not sure where that setting is though... found it once before... now it's gone from my memory :(

    Edit: :doh: it's on the "recovery" tab of the RPC Properties window
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    RPC was the thing that allowed that msblast virus to get around wasnt it? :dunno:

    Anyone have the link to the fix from microsoft?
     
  6. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

  7. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    rpc is a system critical service, just like svchost.

    u wont be able to disable it, just patch it.
     
  8. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  9. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
  10. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ah, I thought you were looking for something else.

    That doesn't disable RPC - it just patches the vulnerability. The first one, that is. Because there was another one discovered about 1 month later. Isn't Windows fun?
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    MS really should have put in a simple firewall that prevents computers not on the local LAN from being accessed by default. You still end up with viruses being downloaded and installed but at least your OS isn't open from attacks from outside of the LAN.
     

Share This Page