remote desktop - best options?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by keleko, May 16, 2006.

  1. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    sometime back in april there was a thread asking about this, but i guess it was in main forum and it's been pruned

    anyway, there was a link to a site with an *excellent* how to, for free

    i thought i saved the url, but i can't find it now


    anyone got it? i'm gonna need to print it out and take with me tomorrow

    :wavey:
     
  2. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    yes, i'm familiar with xp's remote desktop

    the link wasn't from m$ though
     
  4. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    you suck
     
  5. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    and she likes it :bigthumb:
     
  6. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    :hsugh:

    cmon dammit, gimmie more options
     
  7. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    :squint: you suck
     
  8. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
  9. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    For another local computer, RDP (see ms link in another reply). For a remote computer, www.logmein.com
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows Remote Desktop works very well over local networks; there's also a RDP client for Windows 2000, and even one for OSX. It's a sufficiently-durable protocol.

    For off-site remote desktop, you should consider GoToMyPC. We use it at work, for employees who need to use their workstations while on travel, and it works very well. It's not free, though.
     
  11. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I always recommend UltraVNC if RDP is not available. It's a fairly enhanced version of WinVNC. Using a plugin you can have encryption if you so desire. And it's open source, so I always try to push it.


    www.ultravnc.net
     
  12. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    ssh -X
     
  13. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it use any APIs, or does it just dump screencaps to the remote client?
     
  15. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,508
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    logmein is great. Very fast. I've even used their logmeinrescue from a laptop on a Verizon air card (500Kbit, 200ms ping) to control a PC connected via dialup and it was surprisingly quick. Well, not exactly quick, but much more usable than I expected. Over broadband, its almost like RDP over a LAN. I've tried various VNC flavors and they lagged even over a LAN connection.
     
  16. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i've previously tried ultra/real vnc and i wasn't happy with performance at all

    logmein isn't free, neither is gotomypc
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sooo...you want a free, high-quality product? So do I. Let me know when you've invented it.

    EDIT: The free RDP programs transmit screen-captures across the network connection, and as you probably know even highly-compressed images still take up a lot of space. The expensive RDP programs integrate with the OS so they can distinguish individual objects on the screen (icons, windows, mouse pointers, etc.) and only transmit those objects that have changed in the past 1/10th of a second (or thereabouts). That's why they run faster, and that's why they cost more; using APIs to integrate into the OS is a much more intricate and fragile process.
     
  18. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
  19. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    the issue in that particular thread was that 2k3 didn't have remote desktop built in


    pruned threads FTL
     
  20. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,508
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Logmein has a free version that does basic remote control. If you need file transfer or printer redirection, its only like $60/yr. Pretty cheap if you use it a lot.
     
  21. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Logmein has a 1 PC free version.
     
  22. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    RDP = Remote Desktop Protocol. It refers to one thing and is not a generic term (VNC != RDP). It's free for most uses (licensed into the OS I should say).

    LogMeIn has a free 1 PC basic version that performs just as well as it's for-pay version, just with fewer add-on features.

    UltraVNC (free) does have a very good graphics wedge driver that greatly increases performance and color depth.

    Finally, AFAIK the only products that integrate at the "api" level are MS Terminal Services (RDP) and Citrix Presentation Server (ICA). The technology (MultiWin) is patented by Citrix (and licensed back to Microsoft). Anything else claiming to is probably just ridding on top of terminal services to do so.
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhh...

    Windows Server 2003 does have Remote Desktop built-in, both client and server. I'm not trying to be a jackass, but I really don't see where your problem is coming from.

    A little less shooting down our ideas and a little more clarification about your specific scenario would go a long way.
     
  24. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Exactly. Both 2000 and 2003 server have a built in 3-user connection for administration. You don't even have to install it in 2003. Also 2003 allows RDP directly to the desktop (session 0) vs. having to launch a new session. You have to use the 2003 MSTSC client though (the one that has a list of servers on the left and the window on the right) or use RoyalTS, an open source RDP client. Has better organizational ability for the connections.
     
  25. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    yeah, i'm just remembering bits n pieces from the thread :o

    this is gonna sound overly complicated, but

    my xp laptop at works' lan (and if not, over 56k), to my 2k3 server at home, to a clients' xp machine, through to PCs on that lan

    why not go from my laptop to the client? security issues, logging, etc (not my idea)
     

Share This Page