remote control of another computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Corp, Jun 17, 2006.

  1. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    Does anybody have any good recommendations for remote control software? I have my desktop hooked up to my tv so I can watch all my movies on it, and I would be able to control it from my laptop from time to time. Any suggestions?

    Edit: Forgot to mention that both machines are running XP Pro
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2006
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Remote Desktop
     
  3. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    is that whats included with xp pro? if it is, i want something where I don't need to set up another user. something similar to the remote assistance where I can see whats already on the screen, but I dont want to have to send an invitation to myself every time I want to access it.
     
  4. doggfather

    doggfather New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use RealVNC or TightVNC (any program that uses the VNC protocol will work)

    It allows the client and server to see the same thing on the screen
     
  5. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    realvnc is the one I tried. I couldn't get my laptop to connect to my desktop for some reason
     
  6. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    looking now...
     
  7. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    not free :sad2: and i cant even find a price on their website which makes me think its $11ty billion
     
  8. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    got tightvnc working, its free, and seems to be good enough for what I need. Thanks
     
  9. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Remote Desktop...
     
  10. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    yea, it might have better functionality but free > $$ for what i need.
     
  11. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    tried that and i had to set up another account and log off the account i usually use to get it to work. tightvnc seems to be way better.
     
  12. doggfather

    doggfather New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    omg... why pay money?? this is such a simple thing ur asking for

    RealVNC and TightVNC is the solution, Very EZ to set up, its a Next-Next-Finish installation then open port 5900 or whatever port ur using

    then connect to IP:port

    done!
     
  13. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
  14. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    yea, im using tightvnc now. for some reason when i tried realvnc a while ago it wouldnt let me connect :dunno: thanks for the suggestion though :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page