remote computer connection (vnc style)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TekniX, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. TekniX

    TekniX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    213
    i want to be able to use my home computer remotely
    should i use vnc or remote deesktop (running XP PRO)
    and major problem here
    how do i know the ip of my machine at all times?
    i have a host to which i can upload the IP but what do i use for that?
    can i somehow use my host to redirect to home machine?

    thanks
     
  2. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i'm not sure what you mean by that last part,

    if you're behind a router:
    you can either give your host machine a static IP or just leave it on (so the IP doesn't change) and, on the router, forward external port 3389 to internal port 3389 on the host machine's IP.

    if you're not behind a router just do ipconfig, get the ip, and type that into remote desktop
     
  3. TekniX

    TekniX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    213
    i am behind a router
    my ip changes all the time
    i need a way to send it to my public host (to which i know address at all times)
     
  4. TekniX

    TekniX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    213
    correct
     
  5. TekniX

    TekniX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    213
  6. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI

    That will work, or just goto something like www.no-ip.com or www.dyndns.org and setup 'Dynamic DNS'ing' for free. Then when you want to connect just do it by DNS name.

    Personally I prefer VNC and use it on a couple hundred machines all over the world without problems (well oversees connections are really slow at times). Forward port 5900 through your router to use VNC.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2004

Share This Page