Remote Assistance/Desktop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JDub, Mar 22, 2004.

  1. JDub

    JDub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the OC/Union City
    I need some help! My sister is pretty computer-illiterate so I often need to help her. Also, I need to access the computer every now and then to get files off of it. I think I got the Remote Assistance thing figured out, but I can't get Remote Desktop to work. What do I use for the domain? The IP address of her computer? How do I go about setting it up? Any help is appreciated! THANKS! :bigthumb:
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If it is a standalone computer you will not need to be authenticed on a domain, just leave it blank.
     
  3. JDub

    JDub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the OC/Union City
    how will my computer at my place be able to tell where my sister's computer at her place is w/o an IP address?
     
  4. jdub12

    jdub12 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    \
    use her computers ip address for the computer field. plus make sure remote desktop is enabled on her computer. You will need to also put her computer outside the firewall or forward ports if she uses one.
     
  5. JDub

    JDub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the OC/Union City
    Cool, thanks for the help. Nice username ;)
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    OT has atleast 3 jdubs that I can think of. :mamoru:
     

Share This Page