GUN Remington 700 or Springfield M1A

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by 4bangin, Jan 22, 2006.

1. 4bangin

4bangin Ballet of Violence

I am wanting to get a nice gun for long range shooting. I have no experience in it at all. I do like .308 for some reason though. I went gun shopping yesterday and really liked both the M1A and 700. The M1A was the SOCOM II version with the cluster rail, so it was very heavy. Otherwise it felt like a very nice gun. Although ALOT more expensive than the Remington 700. I also noticed alot of swat teams use the 700. So I am torn between these 2. The money isnt an issue, but I dont want to spend an extra grand for a gun that isnt as nice as the cheaper one. Especially if the cheaper will do just as nice of a job.

What is your opinion on these 2?

2. Michael Westen

Michael Westen OT Supporter

kinda 2 different beasts, the M1A is a battle rifle, with an intermediate cartidge.

the rem 700 is more of a hunting/target weapon. If you are looking for precision id take the 700, if you are looking for a lead slinger, id take the M1A

3. 7

7 First comes smiles, then lies. Last is gunfire.

A SOCOM II for long range?:hsugh: Get one of the standard length models.

4. Accord

Accord New Member

Why are you going to waste your money on a shitty ass Springfield M1A when you can buy a REAL M1 Garand from CMP for less than half the cost.

5. 7

How is an M1A shitty? :ugh:

6. Accord

Accord New Member

The SA M1A's are regarded as absolute crap in the M1 community.