reformating hard drive??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by manchild, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Mmmkay, i'm going to buy a new computer soon (eMachines T6212). And, in all of the reviews, it says that some of the pre-loaded software just lag it like mad, and its much better to just re-format it and start clean.

    So, i'm planning on doing this. What is needed to reformat, and how do u do it? totally new to XP (solid Mac user my self, and teh fam comp is still running windows 98), so any help is greatly appriceated.

    Thanks
    Peter
     
  2. GoChris

    GoChris 11 seconds

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    you will need the XP install CD. when the pc boots up, hit DEL or whichever button gets you into the BIOS. In there you can set the BOOT priority and set it to boot from CDROM first.

    The XP cd will boot up and start the SETUP. in the setup you can just choose the C drive and then it will ask to leave the file system intact, or format, just do a quick NTFS format and then install will start right after automatically.
     
  3. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    muchos gracias...
     
  4. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    but chances are its not going to be an XP disc but a system restore disc and that is going to bring the system to factory condition which will have all the spyware.
     
  5. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    yep... and the chances that you even get a system restore CD these days are pretty slim.

    honestly, doing the reformat is easy... its getting the proper WinXP disc to do so that is teh troublesome part. you'll probably have to jsut see what CDs come with the eMachines and hope they give you what you need. or that you have a friend who has an XP CD willing to help.
     
  6. CodsterTX

    CodsterTX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    26,425
    Likes Received:
    1
    your gonna have to download xp pro corp and when ur getting the updates, after is fails windows validation go to tools, manage add-ons, and disable windows genuine advantage, then youll be able to download the updates.
     

Share This Page