Reformat question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ccrooks, Nov 11, 2004.

  1. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    So, I have a 30 gig HD and a 120 gig HD.
    I need to:
    1) reformat the 30 gig HD
    2) install windows xp on the 30 gig
    3) uninstall windows xp on the 120 gig

    how would I go about doing this?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you can't "uninstall" windows xp.

    simply insert your windows xp cd and format/install on the 30gb.
     
  3. Hexx

    Hexx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Yeah just get xp going on the 30gb.. you will have to make it the main drive now (chanel1 & Primary). then you can just delete all the windows crap off the 120gb.
    Remember to backup.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You may want to completely disable the 120 GB drive in the BIOS during the install process
     
  5. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    My friend told me to format+install on the 30gig with the xp cd and, once that was running, use partition magic to partition out the 120 gig into a section with the os and a section w/out it. Then, all I have to do is format the 120gig OS partition and should be home free. Thoughts?
     
  6. Sloshua

    Sloshua New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    8,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    That should work just fine. Just be sure to set the 30GB as Master and the 120GB as Slave. :bigthumb:
     
  7. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    OK, apparently partition magic might be too flaky to use... So I'm just going to install on the 30 gig and delete the windows folders from the 120 gig. this gonna work alright?
     

Share This Page