Recording from DVR to PC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mr Roboto, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. Mr Roboto

    Mr Roboto Flat Black Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Blackest Night...
    Is there any way to transfer recorded shows from a DVR box to my PC? I'm debating getting DVR from Cox, but I'd really like to know if saving the shows is possible first. Thanks guys!
     
  2. Accord

    Accord New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I have a Tivo with my DirecTV and i've always wondered how to transfer saved programs from the Tivo box to my PC. So if anyone knows, help us out :).
     
  3. Dustro

    Dustro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    i got the same question. i know it has the ethernet port and the ieee for the hd reciever but no documentation on any pc connectivty.
     
  4. Shinsei Ryu

    Shinsei Ryu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tivo usually requires a USB ethernet adapter (series 2) or a turbonet card (series 1). You then gotta remove the hd to install drivers and hacks to it (recommended to just upgrade your hd and keep the old one as a backup). All your previously recorded shows will be lost, you cannot transfer those to a PC as they are encrypted.

    Dishnetwork DVR: When a DVR from dishnetwork is first powered on, its locked to whatever HD is in it. Only way I saw to do video extraction is to remove the HD and put it in a PC and run some software on it. (Cannot to DVR->PC, must be from the HD)

    Dont know about Cox or whichever DVRs, but its possible they may be similar to Dishnetwork DVR.
     
  5. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    I got a RADEON 9800 PRO All-In-Wonder

    It has connections for everything...S-Video, Component, RF, etc :wiggle:

    My suggestion is to get a card that will do the same :)
     
  6. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL

Share This Page