Reconfig PC for new SSD v. Best way to do it?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Tonster MBA, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    Hello,

    First off thanks to anyone who takes the time to try and help me, I appricate it.

    I currently have a PC with (2) 750 gig HD's - one was my C: drive and had windows 7 running, the other was just an extra storage. I got a hold of an 80gig SSD and just installed windows 7 on it.

    What is the best way of copying my programs over to the new SSD, I don't want to re-install everything. Can I just copy and paste?

    Also, what is the best way to configure this set up to make the SSD as fast as possible. I do some digital editing and switch between lightroom and PS and would like to be able to do that as fast as possible.

    Any suggestions is helpful.

    (note: i have (2) 500gig external portable HD's plugged in, incase I need to transfer some data around)
     
  2. thekraft

    thekraft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can image your C partition over to the SSD. That should do the trick.
     
  3. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    Would just copying my other Program files and repasting them on the new HD not work?
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,087
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    204
    it may work for some of them, but the majority of them will not work. When a program installs it will write info into the registry that the software needs to run, without that info, I would expect a headache.
     
  5. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    But my C drive is larger then 80 gigs because I have other stuff on there.
     
  6. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    You can try merging the registry from the old installation, and then copying the contents of your old program files folder into the new one.

    For some apps you may have to copy your user folder as well. For example "C:\Users\You". This is because there are various folders in there that programs use as storage for intermediate or temp files. The "Application Data" folder specifically.

    This will be hit and miss, some apps may not work after doing this.
     
  7. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    I just decided I will re-install the programs I need.


    How do I copy over stuff that can't be re-installed. Like all my bookmarks/history/shortcuts from firefox.

    All my contacts and and e-mails from outlook.
     
  8. thekraft

    thekraft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    In firefox, you can export your bookmarks. For emails, you can backup the files or copy/paste outlook.pst. You should be able to export the contacts into a xml/csv file.
     
  9. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    Thank you.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Log into the new computer as Administrator, NOT as yourself, then copy the entire contents of C:\Users\[your name here] from your old hard drive to your new hard drive. When you reboot and log on as yourself, all your old settings should be restored.
     

Share This Page