A&P Recommendable SLR Camera for a Beginner? Sub-600 bucks?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by 300zx, Sep 3, 2006.

1. 300zx

300zx Guest

Hey,

I'm taking a photo class and I need a good dSLR, I've been looking at the Digital Rebel XT and D50, but I've heard that both their 18-55mm lenses aren't the greatest.

I'm pretty much limited in my choices because of my crappy budget :( I was able to find a refurbished XT for 575 at RefurbDepot... but I'm still debating which to get. Which camera takes better crisper clearer pictures overall?

I know there's a 8MP and 6MP differences, but I probably won't feel it too much since I don't do large print photos... but still 8 is a lot bigger than 6 :(
    Gotta choose between the D50 or the XT, and with the new XTi and D80 just coming out, it's making feel real obsolete. Any other good cameras? Help me choose! Thanks!

2. sLpFhaWK

sLpFhaWK www.JJiGz.com

Hey man, I just picked up the new rebel xt and im a beginner as well and i'm interestedin takin a course wuts it running ya? i'd like to know some figures before i find a class that suits my schedule..

3. JaimeZX

JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

A Rebel XT with the kit lens is still going to own almost every P&S out there with the possible exception of the Sony R1, but if you plan to upgrade lenses then I'd definately get the Rebel on that budget.

4. HoodRich

HoodRich Professional Street Nigga OT Supporter

get the rebel and get a 50mm 1.8 lens to go with it. The kit lens is absolutely shit, the 50mm 1.8 is top of the line in every respect except its build quality and you can get it for about 70-80 bucks brand new around 50 bucks used.

5. Redliner7

Redliner7 New Member