A&P recommend me a Nikon

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by HardTech, Apr 9, 2005.

1. HardTech

HardTech hungry

I'm looking for a small camera that will act as a basic point and shoot with great image quality, while helping to bring out the inner photographer in me. Meaning, I need something a little more high-end than the Coolpix 2500 I have right now (not to mention it's been taking really bad pictures lately).

I've been looking at the Coolpix 5600, 5900, 7600, and 7900. I've heard some really great things about the Canon S70 and how a lot of professionals use it as their point and shoot camera, but I've always been partial to Nikon over Canon, especially after comparing image quality.

Does anybody have any experience with any of the cameras I listed? Are there any professionals who use the 7600 or 7900 and could comment on them?

Thanks

I'm a college student too, so no D70 recommendations yet.

2. SenenCito

SenenCito OT Supporter

Well Nikon is coming out with a sub d70 ie the d50 at the end of april, that might be something to consider

3. mojito

mojito New Member

Holy jumping on a bandwagon that doesn't yet exist batman. Please wait until there is actual prrof, specs, estimated delivery date, an official announcement or osmething more than a confirmed rumor before reccommending a camera. Thats like me saying to wait till the next supra comes, which we all know isn't anytime soon.

Pros aren't going to be using a prosumer cam. They may use them for a pocket cam (I use a G6) but not for their daily use.

What do you want it to do, you have lots of different types listed. The 5700 has been a classic cam for them, while the 8700 and newer 8800 are their most advanced prosumer cams.

What types of cameras did you compare image quality too? And who'se pictures did you compare?

4. HardTech

HardTech hungry

that will probably be a little out of my price range... the absolute maximum I am looking to spend is $400, with my ideal price range between $250-$300