Recommend a PSU for me, pls

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Rommel, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. Rommel

    Rommel friends forever

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /yourself now
    Intel Q9550 Quad Core
    Gigabyte GA-EP45T-DS3R
    Seagate Barracuda 500GB 32MB Cache * 2
    Corsair PC8500 DDR2-1066
    Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 4870
    DVD Burner (maybe two)
    Antec Three Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case

    What should i be looking at to power all this equipment?

    And can anyone make any recommendations.
     
  2. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    At least 600W, preferably 750W or more.

    Get this one...mail-in rebate and 15% off with the provided code.
     
  3. gino85

    gino85 fuck your honda civic, i've a horse outside

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sligo, Ireland
    aint rommel from the uk? if he is i dont think newegg deliever
     
  4. Hum

    Hum OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    34,645
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Sunny Cali
  5. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
  6. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    OK...and the 750W unit will actually be less with the special/MIR going on right now.

    n/m, the one you posted is $5 less...I'd still get the higher wattage one tho, think of it as futureproofing.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
  7. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    I do like the modular cabling of the HX, but I can't help but feel that 520W may not be enough power later. Maybe I'm just a victim of marketing.

    Hell, I remember walking in to a computer store years ago and asking for a 200W ATX PSU and the guy laughed and asked what I was going to do with all that power.
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the specs above will only consume around 320W or so at full load
    but i agree with you though,... I'd get the 750W Corsair if the price diff isn't that huge
     
  9. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Unless you have SLI/CrossFire, I didn't think anyone needed ~750W... 520W would be fine for Rommel's box
     
  10. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    I only have one video card (overclocked, not sure of power draw but I'm sure it's at least 100W under full load), but I have a quad core Phenom which drags down 150W on it's own. Add in four case fans, three SATA HDDs and an SATA optical drive and we're probably getting close to 400W usage under full load. I wouldn't call an extra 120W of capacity "futureproofed" - If I add another video card with the same or similar specs, I'm ass out.

    I guess I was focusing too much on my own rig than what Rommel needs - and it does appear that the HX 520W would be a solid choice. Of course, it's all purely academic if gino85 is right abour him being a Brit...I'm sure he could find the same unit elsewhere though.
     
  11. Rommel

    Rommel friends forever

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /yourself now
    Hi. Thanks for the advice.

    In the end i went for a Corsair 650W PSU. I thought i better to be safe, than sorry :)
     
  12. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a question related to this topic... Concerning the power bill each month, if someone puts a 500w or a 900w PSU in the same computer, will the bill be different or will it be the same since the other components in the computer don't consume any more power?
     
  13. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Assuming that each PSU is equally efficient at converting AC to DC, there should be no difference.
     

Share This Page