Receiver has LFE output, sub doesn't have LFE input...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by blykins, May 25, 2007.

  1. blykins

    blykins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zeti Reticula Star System in the Orion Constellati
    The amp on my home theater sub I received the other day does not have an LFE output. What is the best way to hook the sub to my receiver?
    Pic of back of receiver(Denon 1707):
    [​IMG]
    copy/paste the URL, for some reason the pic isn't showing up for me. Arghh.
     
  2. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    Connect your sub to the B set of speaker outputs on the receiver. I take it your sub has speaker level inputs only, so this would work. this is how my mickey mouse set up is like because I am too cheap to get an rca cable. will do when I upgrade the receiver though.
     
  3. blykins

    blykins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zeti Reticula Star System in the Orion Constellati
    i have a red/white rca cable, so your saying I can just plug that into the sub's left input RCA connector on the plate amp, then plug the other end into the LFE out on the receiver?
     
  4. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    What exact sub do you have? The L/R low level inputs won't usually be labeled as "LFE" but that's where your LFE connection goes.
     
  5. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    can you take pictures of the sub connections?

    in that diagram, it shows that the receiver has two pairs of main/front speakers. if you are not using the other set of front speaker outputs, then use those to connect to your sub, if your sub has speaker level inputs. you would make this connection with regular speaker wire.

    that said, you will not be using the sub preout on the receiver to connect to your sub, does that make sense?
     
  6. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some plate amps have what is called a speaker level input. This means that you can hook an amp output up to the speaker level input of the plate amplifier. If you have them, they will look like speaker terminals on the control side of the plate amp. The other input is Line Level, this is what an RCA would be. You DO NOT want to hook a speaker level output into a Line Level Input... This would be VERY bad for your plate amp.

    Specs on the amp and picture always help... :fyi:


    You sub shouldn't have a LFE output, but a LFE input. If it does not hook the LFE output into the Left or Right input. This should work fine for you....
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2007
  7. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It seems to me that's what he was saying.
     
  8. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry... Reading is > than me at 2 AM....
     

Share This Page