reboot problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by druid, Jun 11, 2003.

  1. druid

    druid What do the 5 fingers say?

    Joined:
    May 13, 2001
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a new computer on the way that I got from someone else cheap because he doesn't know to much about computers and couldn't figure out how to fix it. What happens is the computer boots and goes into win98 fine then it just reboots after a varied time 5 mins, 10 mins always a different amount of time. Its apparently not the cpu hs and fan as he checked that and reset it with new grease. I have a few ideas of what to check but it never hurts to hear what others think the problem could be. So if you've had this kind of problem or have any guesses lets hear them.
     
  2. Byromaniac

    Byromaniac GO JETS GO OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    18,684
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    20403
    faulty power supply possibly, or maybe you have some conflicting hardware; video card doesnt like motherboard, bad ram, etc really could be anything, and one time a friend of mine had that problem and all it took was replacing the power cord to the computer

    if you dont know much about computers its gonna be hard helping you fix it. so i suggest taking it to a shop somewhere to get fixed
     
  3. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it a compaq?

    just asking because when I had a compaq it would do stupid things like that
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Load up your emergency boot floppy in DOS and leave it. If it reboots, it's hardware. If it doesn't then it's windows interfacing with the hardware.
     
  5. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    my dads old emachines did that. At first the PSU fan wasn't turning so I put on another one hoping that would fix it. It didin't. I think the damage may already be done unfortunatly. Gonna try to sawp out PSU's though and hope it's just that.
     
  6. Scuba

    Scuba New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    it can really be anything. ive seen ram video cards motherboards and power supply all do that. i just fixed my moms comp that did that by replacing the motherboard. it got burned long ago i guess b/c i could see the burn marks but it still ran for a few mins.
     
  7. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I would guess memory :dunno:
     

Share This Page