reason not to buy this combo (cpu & mobo)?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by michelin man, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.211941

    AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor Model HDX945FBGIBOX - Retail

    ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

    Combo Price: $238.99

    won't be playing any games, will be used to run Server 08 along with hyper-v and a couple of VMs. i'll be the only one connecting to the box.

    open to other ideas.
     
  2. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Looks fine, I have the AM2 version of that CPU and its great. The mobo looks like a standard 790 mobo, nothing special.
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    you decide if it applies to you, but here are the reasons why people don't like that cpu

    1. its not a Black Edition

    2. Intel Q9550 is still the better cpu and could be cheaper too.
    DDR3 ram will cost you about $60 or more.
    Q9550 is $169 at microcenter + cheap mobo + DDR2 ram + lower power bill = more money for hookers and blow

    only con with the Intel is the LGA775 socket. but if you won't be upgrading that machine for years,... why would that matter?
     
  4. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I try to shy everyone away from socket 775. But the 9550 will still beat the 945. Still, that mobo isnt bad, and my chip draws very little power. Idles down to 800mhz when unloaded.

    If you don't care about DDR3 ram, you can always get an AM2+ board that uses ddr2 and still use the AM3 chip. Or just save a few and get a AM2 PII.

    But that would fuck up the great combo price you have going on.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    whatever works for him

    but yeah, that combo's price is really good that he shouldn't be considering AM2+ anymore.
     
  6. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Agreed.
     
  7. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    How is the Black Edition better?
     
  8. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,014
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Been an intel fan for years but switched to AMD here recently I really cannot add anything negative to it. Intel has never given me problems except with cooling issues but the AMD Phenom I have is well worth it. I been wanting to upgrade to an AMD quad but little to much to shell out right now for something Id on't really need :hs:
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    its AMD's flag ship cpus,... the holy grail of AMD fan boys
    unlocked multiplier
    will overclock easier/higher
    think of them like as Intel's Extreme Edition CPUs, but without the hefty price tag
    and,... "once you go black, you'll never go back" :mamoru:

    imo,... Phenom II X4 955 BE or go with Intel
     
  10. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I know that, since I have a black edition, Im supposed to overclock with the multi, but AMD has one huge flaw in that regard. The Cool and Quiet cpu speed stepping wont work if you overclock with the multiplier. Since it dynamically changes the multi to raise or lower CPU speed, it always needs to be set to "Auto" in bios.

    But, i can crank up the FSB and get the same results, plus faster ram and HT. And it still clocks down to 900mhz on idle.

    So really, black editions are nice because they are easier, but the better way to overclock and still get the power and heat savings is by CPU clock, not multiplier.

    But then again, a lot of people think cold and quiet is super gay...
     

Share This Page