RCA "Splitters" on component input?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FyreDaug, May 9, 2006.

  1. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Since each part of the component cable is like an RCA would using an RCA "splitter" (1 male input to tv, 2 actual component inputs in it) work? Reason is I have only 1 "hi-def" input on my tv, the other component isnt as good (not as high res) so I want to run my computer component into it aswell as my xbox 360.... obviously they wont both work at the same time, but thats fine with me.
     
  2. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,809
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    i would look into getting a hi def splitter box or an av receiver that has up converting outputs.
     
  3. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Would a hi def splitter box actually make a difference? I dont see how...
     
  4. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,809
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    i didn't mean hi def, you can find a splitter box that has mulitple component inputs and one component output.
     
  5. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, well before I go buy more rca splitters to try, would I suffer any quality loss? I dont see how though....
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    every time you add a connector or increase cable length, you can degrade signal... Will it be noticable? Probably not.
     

Share This Page