Rate this Home Theater PC Setup

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by o2, May 11, 2007.

  1. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Building a HT box for my PC. This is what Im thinking of getting. The prices are in $CAD.

    MSI nVidia GeForce 8600GTS 256MB Silent 2DVI/HDTV PCI-Express Video Card

    Antec Fusion 2.0 HTPC Desktop mATX Case 1X5.25 2X3.5INT 430W ATX12V Black Silver VFD Volume Control

    Gigabyte GA-965GM-S2 mATX LGA775 Conroe 965G DDR2 PCI-E16 2PCI SATA2 Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard

    OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB Retail

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive

    Black Magic Intensity HDMI IN Card

    Maybe some better sound card than the integrated one

    Another issue with this mobo is that PCI-E x16 and x1 are right next to each other. If I put in those video card (it takes up 2 slots due to a large heatsink) it will block the x1 slot, which I need for the Black Magic HDMI card. I havent found any mobos that have them further appart. :(

    Of course I can get the 8500GT Silent instead, but the 8600GTS has more horse power, which couldn't hurt.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2007
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Motherboard socket is not compatible with CPU.
     
  3. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Wopps I pasted the wrong 1. Fixed.
     
  4. itsover954

    itsover954 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Mine has better specs, and I have no use for that screen at the front. It just adds to the size.
     
  6. itsover954

    itsover954 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    how much total are you spending?
     
  7. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Under 1.5k. All that stuff I listed comes to about 1.3k CAD.
     
  8. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    A C2D & 8xxx video will push out alot of heat. Since you're going for the microATX form factor make sure your fans are quiet&quality, and your cooling is planned well. I assume that you know wtf to do since you can spec this well initially.

    Will you be recording over the GigaLAN to a file server? HDD space is short. 1080p should fit through the pipe with a loss-less codec.
     
  9. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Its gonna be connected to my main PC over gigE which will have about 3.5TB of space.

    This case has a shitload of fans, the video card is fanless, and just has a massive heatsink. I could underclock the e6600 to reduce temp..... or just get a e6420.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The stock fan on an E6600 works perfectly.

    Mine typically ran at 40C-41C with stock cooler.

    I would get an Intel board if I was you.
    I've been running one of these since last September, without a glitch. It's got everything on it that you'll need.
    They're about $135 US dollars.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121080
     
  11. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    My latest is mATX and I'm starting to OC. You'll be fine; Just keep an eye on temps initially to make sure it's stable under load.

    I'm not sure what to do about the space issue between the vid in and vid out cards. My video input is a PCI card, but then I'm just doing NTSC and it's not in the box with the double-wide vid out.

    Honestly, this is pretty heavy for an HTPC. Is it going to double as a spare gaming box or use that second DVI out concurrently? For just HTPC, you could prob spend quite a bit less. Mine is, quite literally, spare parts with a nice input card.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    As far as the graphics temps go, just put a Zalman cooler on the video card.

    I already called Zalman about the new nVidia cards and they tell me that the VF900 works on the
    8600GTS cards.

    The best bet is to call them with measurements for hole distances.
     
  13. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Well, the PCI slot spacing issue has been solved by using a different ASUS board. The mobo Doc Brown suggested has the same problem, so it wont work for me.

    Asus boards are one of the best anyways, so its fine.

    yes its a little heavy for a HTPC, but I wouldn't mind playing an occasional game on it. Why not have the extra horse power?
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh sorry, I missed the part about the spacing.

    The Gigabyte micro-atx boards have the x1 slot further down on the board

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128024
     
  15. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    link it
     
  16. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    It seems like money wasted if it won't be utilized regularly.
    For something that is primarily a HTPC, I'd go with one of the AMD boards with on-board ATI or Nvidia video with DVI out. AMD cpus are dirt cheap and there's plenty of horespower for even HD video without the need for a hot, power hungry video card.
     
  17. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Its already linked :)
     
  18. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Sorry but Im not going with AMD, and it wont be able to handle 1080p video.
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think you would be better off with a 965 chipset Gigabyte over a 945 chipset Asus.
     
  20. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Why? Whats the difference?
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    965 Intel > *
     
  22. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    945 is an older chipset that had to be reworked to work with Core 2 Duo.

    965 was released side by side with Core 2 Duo.
     
  23. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Doc and jolly are correct. How'd I miss that link?
     
  24. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ok cool, changed list.

    Would the onboard audio do a fine job with a 5.1 surround system, or will I need to get a dedicated sound card?
     
  25. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, now the link sucks.

    Here's the spec w/o login link: http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products...rboard&ProductID=2388&ProductName=GA-965GM-S2

    Even my link doesn't say shit about the audio out, really. They claim outs, but no specifics. What's the best your reciever can take? SPDIF I'd guess, but I don't see it on the board.
     

Share This Page