Rate my new machine v1.0

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dtfromep, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    Okay, will be ordering soon, let me know if it all looks good:

    MSI K8N Neo Platinum (Nforce 250)
    Athlon64 3200+
    GeForce 6800 256mb
    1GB PC3200 CAS2.5
    450W PS


    Total shipped w/heatsink/case: $859
    and whichever hard drive/optical drive/case I happen to have lying around.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Looks pretty awesome. What brand of RAM?
     
  3. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    Kingston, actually.

    Did some research on the vid card.....got it from newegg for $325, it is basically a rebadged NU6800 ($600+). Reports at arstechnica are that it comes out of the box running at 1.1ghz. Model is eVGA Limited Edition 6800 256 GDDR3.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I don't know shit about video cards, just wanted to make sure you weren't going with cheap no-name-brand RAM in such an awesome machine
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    basically the same system i have, minus the vid card :bigthumb:
     
  6. oradii

    oradii www.oteampress.com

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    6800's rock.

    that motherboard is pretty sweet to, we have that mb/processor setup on a server here at werk
     
  7. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    How do you like it? Pretty quick? You run any 64 bit software on it?
     
  8. FalconXtreme

    FalconXtreme w3rd

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    antioch, california & tuskegee, al
    -10 pts for a evga 6800. should of got the gainward gt and oc' it to ultra speeds. -10pts for not getting an amd64
     
  9. FalconXtreme

    FalconXtreme w3rd

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    antioch, california & tuskegee, al
    also have u done any stress testing on the system under heavy laod? ur psu might not be able to supply enough power consistantly to the power hungry 6800 series
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    Umm, what is an Athlon64 3200+ then?

    Nice system man. Is it the 2000MHz w/ 1MB cache or the 2200MHz w/ 512k cache?
     
  11. FalconXtreme

    FalconXtreme w3rd

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    antioch, california & tuskegee, al
    -23 pts for me my eyes skimmed over it
     
  12. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    512k for now, when prices come down, I will look into upgrading. This was the best price/perf point I could find.
     

Share This Page