Rate my new AMD setup

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FindersKeepers, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Thinking about building this, might order the parts this week.....

    AMD Phenom II X4 Processor 965 (3.4GHz) AM3, Retail $186.35
    Kingston KHX1600C9D3K2/4G DDR3-1600 4GB(2x2GB) CL9 Memory Kit $111.1
    GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P Socket AM3 $173.7

    $471.15


    Already have 600w PS, and the case, etc... just need the main 3 components.
     
  2. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    oh for now I've got an n X1650 512mb card, but im getting HD 4870s i think



    i havent fully decided
     
  3. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    Think about a 5770 for video, if not a 5850 or higher.
     
  4. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Just noticed they were out... I will do that too

    I want to run dual 23" monitors for my normal usage and then a 46" on the wall above for movies/games

    But this will mostly be used for photo post processing and surfing :o


    :o
     
  5. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
  6. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    If you do get HD 4870's that will be my exact computer, and I love it.
     
  7. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida


    I like Gskill but i get big incentives with kingston :o

    so for the kingston my price would be slightly less overall than the gskill
     
  8. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Nice.

    I have the 940 @ 3.2 and I love it. Mine gets a little warm, so watch the temps. I plan on getting an aftermarket cooler, the stocker doesnt seem to do the job. I was hitting 65c on stock specs in prime95
     
  9. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Yeah heat is a big thing... I know these thigns will heat up my 12x12 room pretty easily.

    I'll run aftermarket cooling for sure, I dont know if I want to take the watercool plunge though, it scares me putting water on something im spending a lot of money on lol
     
  10. Oceandiver

    Oceandiver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks good. But always check the Mainboard manual (On the GIGABYTE website) which DIMMs are compatible with the board. The manufacturers always test some of the mainstream stuff.
    It's not really necessary, but you can avaoid having strange incompatibillities ("the ghost in the PC").

    greetz
     
  11. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Most just throw a xigmetek s1823 and call it good. I plan on doing that.

    max temp on the phenom II is listed at 62c and under rpime it can go as high as 67c on stock voltage, stock cooler and thats with a 940 which has a lower TDP than the 965. I have mine undervolted to 1.300V at 3.2ghz and its rock stable and doesnt go above 57c under prime.

    Just something to think about.
     
  12. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Back to this

    The thing about memory is I can always underclock it, I don't see it being completely incompatible, I just see it not being used.

    However, I decided not to order everything this week to give me an extra week to save a couple hundred more and weigh some other options...

    I still have:
    the 965
    The 790XT

    But the video card and ram im going back and forth on, and im looking at new power supplies this one is only single rail 16amps and that wont do :big grin:
    i dont care if its single rail, I just want 25a min... for my own piece of mind
     
  13. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Don't skimp on the GPU - you'll notice in frame rates.
     

Share This Page