Rate my computer build

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bigboostdsm, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    First time I've built a PC from the ground up. Tell me if I'm on the right track. The main reason behind building this is for school, I'm an engineering major so I'll be using AutoCAD and AutoCAD Civil 3D on it, but I'll probably do a little gaming on it as well.

    -E8500 3.16ghz core 2 duo
    -Asus P5Q-E
    -Thermaltake 600w PSU
    -Corsair 4gb memory
    -Samsung 22x dvd burner
    -Zalman 110mm 2ball CPU cooler
    -Antec 900 case
    -Evga 8800GTS (have)
    -Soundblaster ct4760 (have)
    -2x Samsung 2253BW


    Ordering this stuff (zipzoom) + CPU cooler (amazon w/ a rebate) + case (newegg) on Monday, then the monitors as I get the money. I'll be using my old 19" panel until then.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Oh forgot a couple things.

    I'm going to use an 80 gig HD that I've already got for the OS/program files and I'll purchase a 500-750 gig HD for media. I'm getting vista from some discount program my school has. I think that's it.
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    if it was me, I'd switch to a gigabyte motherboard and get some faster ram, DDR2-8500, also not a fan of thermaltake power supplies, I'd switch to one of the ones from corsair, ocz or pc power & cooling.
     
  4. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Anything specific wrong with the PSUs?

    Is the mobo thing just a brand preference? I've heard good things of the asus boards :dunno:

    Jumping up to the pc2-8500 ram is a pretty big price difference for the same amount of memory, this is a budget build so I really had to keep price in mind.
     
  5. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'd get a quad core, but otherwise looking OK.
     
  6. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    I'm still between the e8500 (3.16ghz duo) and the q6600 (2.4ghz quad).

    Is there really a big enough difference? Will it help run AutoCAD smoother/faster? Price is almost identical on the two so that's not the real issue there. I guess I just don't know enough about the differences :o
     
  7. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've got a quad and haven't played around with duals enough to be able to compare properly. But mine really handles everything I throw at it really well, struggles with say 4 VMWares running, but that's more a RAM problem as I'm only using 2GB.

    I just think you have more room for move with a quad :dunno: Either way you'll be happy I'm sure.
     
  8. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I'd really like to know the deal on quad core. Are more cores of less ghz better than less cores of great ghz?

    I was under the impression that most progs don't use four cores.
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    multi-threaded apps will utilize all 4 cores using a single memory context. so here, quad is better.

    single threaded apps will only see 1 core. here, you'd be better off with faster clock speed and more ram.
     
  10. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Which would be better for something like AutoCAD? I was pretty much wondering what that other guy asked. Is it worth it to take a .76ghz drop for the two extra cores on that program? I really don't plan on doing much gaming at all :dunno:
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    an overclocked quad
     
  12. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    What can I safely OC that q6600 to?
     
  13. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    3.0ghz is easy
    most people reach 3.2-3.4ghz
    3.6ghz and above needs improved cooling, tweaks, etc.

    of course there's no guarantees. it will all depend on your cpu, mobo, and ram.
     
  14. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    AutoCAD is partially multithreaded. Not 100% of it is, but you should see significant performance gains using a quad core vs dual core with it in some tasks.
     
  15. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Ordered the case, cpu cooler, and a spare fan today. The rest tomorrow :coold:

    I think I'm going to go ahead with the q6600 and OC it to ~3.2 or so.
     
  16. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I believe autoCAD only benefits from multiple processing cores when rendering using Mental Ray, which is multi-threaded.

    I'd probably still get the quad though.
     
  17. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Yea, I'm going to go ahead with the quad core since I'll be able to OC it over 3.0.

    I ended up picking one of the monitors up today as well, I'll get the second with my next paycheck. Originally I was just going to use my shitty 15" monitor until I could get both at once, but I decided to say screw it and picked one up.
     

Share This Page