Ram upgrade question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mac, Jul 4, 2006.

  1. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    can u use any old laptop ram to upgrade Dell notebooks? or do they have proprietary chips i have to buy?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    gotta match type and speed, and most preferably, brand.
     
  3. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah brand isnt tpyically THAT big of a deal, I mean itll probably work. But like jolly said, type has to obviously match. if you have ddr, you need ddr, if its sdram you need sdram... speed is another thing, if you put a slower speed stick in there, itll still work, but itll clock the faster one down to the speed of the slow one.... So is the mhz loss worth mb gain?
     
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    On laptops Brand is a big deal.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :werd:

    notebook chipsets are VERY picky. Match brand whenever possible. Although Corsair/Crucial typical work with OEM-branded memory.
     

Share This Page