RAM upgrade issue...NEED HELP!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rocklee, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    yea, it's me again. :wavey:

    brief info...
    right now, I have 512 mb of ram. I want to upgrade to at least a gigs worth. so my dilemma is, everything about my desktop is sort of out dated (dell pc...celeron processor, everything is integrated (from video card to sound card...basic pci slots, no express).

    my question is, can I still upgrade my ram (512mb dual channel DDR SDRAM at 400MHz), with this POS comp, or do I have to save up and invest on a new "updated" comp?? (which I am not looking forward to do anytime soon...low funds)

    Dimension 3000 - Celeron
    Intel® Celeron® D Processor 330 (2.66GHz, 533 FSB), Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition


    if the answer is yes, (as in I could still upgrade my ram on this shitty comp), any recommendations on what specific ram I need or should get or what sites I should go to for the good deals??

    I heard I need to match ram in order for it to work correctly...don't have a clue on what ram I should be looking for.

    all I know is that I want at least a GB worth of ram.




    I am noob, PLEASE HELP!!! :sadwavey:
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That motherboard only has two memory slots, so you can either buy 2 x 1gb sticks of memory, or add 1 x 512mb.
    I would highly recommend you just add 512mb. That system would never use a full 2gb.

    This one will work, and it shows it's good for Dell pc's.
    512mb PC3200 - $55.88 with free shipping.

    http://www.edgetechcorp.com/store/productdetails.aspx?product_id=5747

    Oh, and about the dual channel thing. That motherboard doesn't support it,
    so don't worry about whether the memory is an exact match.
    Just plug it in, and run with it.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    doc, please do not mis-inform our patrons. The Dell Dimension 3000 uses an Intel D865 chipset that *does* support dual-channel memory.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I didn't know that a 2 slot motherboard could handle dual channel.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    considering that you only need *two* slots for dual channel, I don't see why it wouldn't. And it's a D865 chipset, so indeed the memory controller does.
     
  6. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    I think I'm gonna go with another stick of 512mb...thanks again for the advice peeps :)
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon

Share This Page