RAM Speed question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AmFar, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. AmFar

    AmFar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    When my new stick of 512mb pc3200 ddr memory arrives, would it be possible to somehow add my 128mb pc2100 ddr also or will different speeds create conflict? Maybe have 730mb of 2100 if that's even possible?
    -Am
     
  2. picabu

    picabu I like pie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    It will all run at 2100 I believe.
     
  3. AmFar

    AmFar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, which would be better? Computer will primarily be used for gaming.

    730mb of 2100
    512mb of 3200
     
  4. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    How fast is your CPU?
    I'd go with 730mb of 2100
     
  5. vudoodoodoo

    vudoodoodoo Guest

    Should've bought 2x256MB of PC3200. :p
     
  6. AmFar

    AmFar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    athlon xp 2600+ ~2.2ghz
    Long story short... old memory (512 2100) went bad.
    Not able to buy high capacity-high speed memory from other than on-line avenues, got antsy and felt withdrawl while waiting for 512 3200 to arrive, went to store and bought a 128 2100 to tie me over temporarly.
     
  7. accord 4 me

    accord 4 me Goooooooooooooooogle

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    14,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can mix and match whatever..as long as its ddr, only thing is, it'll run at the speed of the slowest ram dimm
     
  8. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    Are you overclocking the FSB, or is it at stock 133 MHz?
    If you have it at stock 133 MHz, then put all the memory
    in at that speed.
    If you have it overclocked, then you will probably be
    better off with the 512 MB at your overclocked speed.
     

Share This Page