Ram = Ram?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deadW8, Aug 19, 2004.

  1. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Hey guys, just helped the g/f's mom get a new computer. It's a Dell 2400 (she's not gonna use it for anything besides internet, email, word processing and her Hoyle Casino games :rofl: ) with a P4 2.8 (dunno if it's a northwood or prescott chip tho - i'll assume northwood since it's in their base desktop model).

    It only comes with 128mb of ram and Windows XP Home --> :greddy:

    I'm shopping for prices right now, but I'm not sure about ram and HT; I also don't understand all the numbers such as PC2700, PC3200, PC3500, etc as well as "DDR".

    What type of ram do I need? (I want to put at least a total of 512mb of ram into the system so Windows XP won't bog it down.)

    Do I need the same size sticks (i.e.: two sticks of 256mb?) to enable/use hyperthreading?

    I know that you guys are real knowledgeable about ram, so please explain and bring me up to date. :wavey:
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2004
  2. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    I like those Dell systems with the exception of the RAM part. 128 is PAINFUL on Windows XP. You would want to use PC3200 with that system although PC2700 and PC3500 will work as well. The performance difference for what she's doing would be negligable between 3200 and 3500. I'd say just pick up a 512MB stick.

    To make use of DDR you need two same sized same speed (2700/3200/3500) sticks. I've never made use of DDR but I hear that there isn't much of a difference for the average user.

    I'd say pick up this sucker and never look back:
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-141-424&depa=0

    If $80 is too much a 256MB chip will make a huge difference in performance for her as well.
     
  3. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Yeah, I was like :ugh: when I saw the amount of ram included with the system, but for $320 AR and her needs, it's a good deal and a huge leap from an AMD K6-2. :big grin:

    I was wondering about the DDR and the same sized ram since that's what everyone seems to harp on so I wasn't sure if getting one stick of 512mb (I'll take you recommendation of PC3200 Slid :bigthumb: ) would work with the existing stick of 128mb that's already included.

    If so, I'll just do that. :)

    I'll also need help with RAM again in the future when I decide to tear apart my Dell 8300 for overclocking purposes. :x:
     
  4. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Yeah, you can mix and match different sized chips (128/256/512) - you can also mix different speed chips (2700/3200/3500) but when mixing chips of varying speed *both* chips will run at the lowest chips speed. I'm not sure if you'd have PC2700 or 3200 - it wouldn't matter either way because the price difference between the two is almost non-existant.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Northwood > Prescott at those speeds anyways. They sometimes identify them with a "C" (Northwood) and an "E" (Prescott) right after the CPU speed

    Hyperthreading has nothing to do with RAM BTW. It essentially makes your single processor a virtual second processor.
     
  6. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa

    Yeah, I know about the C and E designations. Thanks for the info tho. My Dell 8300 system is a 2.8C and I'm assuming this Dell 2400 for the g/f's mom is also a 2.8C simply because it looks like Dell is using the "hotter" :rofl: prescotts for the 8400 systems now.

    As for hyperthreading, I wasn't sure how that worked - I understood the very basic premise of making one processor act like two but I thought ram had to matched properly in accordance with speed and DDR and all that. Glad you guys tell me this stuff. :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page