Ram Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SkyAce2004, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. SkyAce2004

    SkyAce2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I just installed Vista on my laptop (My hard drive crashed and I had to start from scratch. I got a free copy of Ultimate from that Microsoft game crap, so I used that disk).

    Anyway, Ive only got 1gb of ram installed, and its running at 75%ish capacity. So I was looking on newegg to buy 2-2gb modules. According to CPU-Z, im running DDR2 @ max 226MHZ (PC2-4300).

    I did a search for 2x2gb on Newegg and the slowest speed I can find is DDR2 667 (PC2-5300)

    Can I buy this ram and will it run in my laptop, or will i need to find the slower frequency ram?
     
  2. bpfx

    bpfx .

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    It should work.
     
  3. SkyAce2004

    SkyAce2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    will it run at the new rams speed, or the previous rams speed? or I guess that depends on my motherboard?
     
  4. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    It should slow itself down to whatever speed your motherboard can take. Don't you have to run Vista 64 to actually utilize all 4GB tho?
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, he does. I suppose he could have the most badass onboard video card ever, though.
     
  6. SkyAce2004

    SkyAce2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    i thought the 32bit version would accept up to 4gb? according to the laptop specs, i can upgrade up to 4gb of ram. and ive only got a 32bit processor in here.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue is Windows. Linux will recognize all 4GB, but Windows 32-bit won't.
     

Share This Page