RAM question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LIQUID, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    what's the diff between dual channel and regular ram?

    i mean you can buy 1 stick of 1gb or a dual channel package which is 2 x 512mb

    when you put it in your PC does it see it as 1gb or only 512mb?

    is one better than the other?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    They sell dual channel ram in packs so that you know there's no difference between the two sticks - that's the key. By themselves, there's no difference.
     
  3. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    so there is no speed performance? sorry for my noob questions :(

    am i better getting 1 stick of 1gb memory or 2 x 512mb?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That's not what I said - I just said the sticks themselves are the same. 2x512 when configured in dual channel is faster than one 1 x 1GB because of how they are addressed.
     
  5. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    ic :doh:

    thnx
     
  6. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    Its always better to have more sticks. If you have 4 slots with 256 in each, it would run better than one 1g stick. Also, the dual channel packages ensure that you have two of the same sticks, ensuring no hardware conflictions. When you start piece mealing ram sticks they sometimes like to fight with each other. Best case scenario, slower ram. Worse case, blue screen of death.
     
  7. jrwfz5

    jrwfz5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia MO Mizzou Baby
    It will automatically rum in dual channel if when you hook it up, and reps right it is faster w/ 2x512 then 1x1gig
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No it won't automatically run in Dual Channel unless you're careful which slots you put them in.
     
  9. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    awesome

    thanks for help guys!

    I've got a dual channel kit chosen for my pc now :)
     
  10. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,475
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    And his board needs to support dual channel memory too.

    since he mentioned exactly which board he has and all :)
     

Share This Page