RAM opinions.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    One of my crucial sticks died last night so off to RMA land they go. Thinking of grabbing another 2x1GB set. Saw alot of favorable comments over at anandtech on these

    BUFFALO Firestix 2GB (2 x 1GB)


    Anyone here have them? Just looking for something that's gonna give good performance but not too much $$$$.

    This way I can have 4GB total even though XP won't see it all.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    XP won't even use it.

    I recommend Corsair.
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    It uses ~3GB, right? I just don't want to buy a 2x512MB set for some reason. Figured I might as well get 2x1GB.

    Corsair is expensive and my motherboard is supposedly picky but I see several people using the above RAM have my mobo.

    hmmmmmm, not sure what to do.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Corsair is good memory. Picky mobos like it.

    buffalo is not as good.


    (yes you only get 3.25GB)
     
  5. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
  6. usahed

    usahed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i recommend the Corsair ram, only because i have never tried Buffalo before and i dont know how it performs & what not
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    definitely.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do you do any intensive computing like rendering?
    If not, there is no need to get extra ram above 2gb in XP.
    In fact, you take a percent or two of a hit when you add ram above 1gb
    in most applications.
    So if you don't need 3gb, don't get anymore than you already have.
     
  9. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower

    I do alot with video from time to time and some pics. I think it would benefit but I just can't motivate myself to pull out the credit card.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    To give you some perspective, 2GB of RAM is enough to store almost an hour of MPEG-2 compressed video in memory all at once. This neglects to consider the space needed by Windows and by the video editing application, but the point remains that 2GB is plenty to hold any reasonable data you're ever going to use with your current computer.
     

Share This Page