RAM issue..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Mar 3, 2005.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I have a P3 I'm trying to upgrade the RAM on. HP Pavilion, came with 256.. Trying to add an additional 256.

    BIOS reads the chip, but system won't boot.. just continually restarts non stop.. I checked creep, I even reversed the chips and still nothing. Removed the new out of package chip and the system works again. Place the new RAM in by it self, system works..

    So is it possible that one slot is dead?
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Definately possible. Are both sticks the same as far as single sided or double sided?
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Yep.. Same speed as well....Bizarre.
     
  4. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd recommend dusting out the said "disfunctional" ram-slot, if that doesn't work then most probably the RAM slot is disfunctional.
     
  5. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    my comp did something like that a while ago
    but.. it was because the speeds didnt match
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    That's my other theory. I need to find a piece of pc100.. CompUSA didn't have any..
     

Share This Page