RAM for Mac Pro (Early 2008)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Fubar, Jun 22, 2008.

  1. Fubar

    Fubar OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    PA
    So I have a Mac Pro which I use a lot for graphics and editing photos. The stock 2 GB is slowing my machine down quite a bit and would like to upgrade. I am a bit confused as to whether or not adding 2 x 2 GB modules is better or would adding 4 x 1 GB modules be better? I was planning on adding any of the new modules to the existing 2 GB modules. Any advice?
     
  2. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    I'd go with 2x2GB.

    just makes it easier for future upgrades
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    on my mac pro, i have 4x 2GB sticks...
     
  4. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    I believe for best performance you should have groups of 4 of the same capacity split between the same position in both the upper and lower banks.
     
  5. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Go for 2x2GB, you can get it for $175 from OWC. [link]

    You will want to put the 2GB DIMMs in slots 1&2 on board A and the 1GB modules in 1&2 on board B. It's all in the manual if it's confusing. Don't get thrown by the fact the default Mac Pros ship with a memory stick on both boards.
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I wouldn't put anything less than a 2gb stick in.
     

Share This Page