RAM Compatibility

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by VoOdOoVyPeR, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
  2. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
  3. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    actually, i have two 256 sticks, this dual channel setup. i have two open slots. do you suggest i get two 512's or 1 1gig
     
  4. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    well in that case get two 512 sticks
     
  5. huntz0r

    huntz0r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  6. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    i was lookin in my comp, this is kinda what my ram looks like

    || ||

    each line representing a slot for memory. the slots on the left of the pair on the left and the pair on the right are being used. computer techs suggest using the same RAM for each channel. now is a channel the pair on the left, and the other channel the pair on the right? or is it the two lefts and the two rights?
     
  7. Ractoon

    Ractoon Shibumi in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Channel is a set of two, usually color coded, slots on the motherboard. If they're not color coded then I would guess they are grouped together, but could check the manual to make sure.
     
  8. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    well if thats the case do you suggest i take one of the 256 sticks and put it next to the otehr one? and then put the two 512s next to each other
     
  9. Ractoon

    Ractoon Shibumi in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you wanted to take advantage of the increased bandwidth of having it in dual channel mode, then yes. Otherwise mix and match to your hearts content.
     
  10. huntz0r

    huntz0r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    On most boards that I've seen, each "pair" of slots is a single channel, in other words, to install two sticks in dual channel mode you would alternate slots (filled, empty, filled, empty). On the ones I've used the slots are color-coded, say two are black and two are blue, and the colors alternate; you install two identical sticks in the two blue slots or in the two black slots.

    [​IMG]

    One sure way to tell if your memory is actually running in dual-channel mode is install Sisoft Sandra (google it) and run the memory info module. Sandra can tell you all sorts of other nifty things about your system too.
     
  11. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    so u think that they did it right to begin with? cuz thats how mine is now, fill, empty, fill, empty. and when i get the two 512s, im either going to put them in the empty slots or put each stick next to each other of equal size.
     
  12. Ractoon

    Ractoon Shibumi in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the memory slots colored at all on your motherboard?
     

Share This Page