RAID > *

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Scoob_13, Dec 15, 2003.

  1. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    I built a cheap box with a RAID 0 array in it, and ran a count query on a medium-sized database with 7.5 million records, and compared it to my workstation that's leagues beyond the cheap box.


    Cheap box time: 41 seconds
    Workstation: 4:05 minutes.


    Raid > *.

    I just felt like sharing with people that would appreciate it, my girlfriend, family, and nearly all of my friends would ask why I'm messing with roach spray :wtc:
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    ahahahha that sounds like my g/f I started to talk about languages (ie: html, php, etc) but she was like wtf????? This is the only place that really understands what the hell i'm talking about.

    oh well

    raid is tits by the way
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    haha, funny you bring that up. We had our company christmas party last thurs, and i took a date (not my gf), but i sat at a table next to my supervisor and we were talking about a bunch of crap.. and when i was taking her home she was like "were you guys speaking a foreign language?"
     
  4. what's the config of the box, and final cost? I'm building a SCSI RAID 0+1 box right now myself, dual 18.2s, <$175.
     
  5. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAID 0 is not RAID. That is all.
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    heh, there is truth to that statement
     
  7. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    True. But once I mirror it over to the other 2 disks I dug up in the store room, it will be ;)
     
  8. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    MSI K7T266 Pro
    Athlon 1.4 TBird
    768mb ram
    WD 20GB 2MB Cache on IDE-0
    WD 40GB 2MB Cache on Stripe 0
    IBM 40GB Deskstar on Stripe 0
    3COM 10/100 Nic
    Cheap Vid, etc.
    Windows 2003 SBS

    Since I had everything laying around, including a new heatsink, a couple of fans, and some rounded cables, $free.

    Since this is a proof-of-concept for several IT-only tools including IT-only SQL db's, I didn't want to sink any money into it until I order the real hardware. I'm actually providing the hardware and the OS & DB system through my consulting firm, so that the company can benefit from it until they can afford the hardware and the cost of another 2003 server. And did I mention that it's a complete tax write-off for my company? :bigthumb:

    I love my job :o
     
  9. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    I'm currently pricing out specs on an AMD 64bit system, however I'll be damned if I can find a good supplier of quality 1GB PC3200 ECC modules. How's yours going?
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :rofl: My girlfriend is the same way, but her dad is a geek so it's all good ;)
     
  11. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley

    friggin nice. Everyday I love it more. Boot up time is around 20 seconds, I never really run into lag or anything....and I just got a thermaltake venus 12 cpu fan + heatsink. I OC'd the biatch to 2.2ghz and it's still under 50c running prime 95. when I get a case + better PSU i plan on trying to hit 2.4 - 2.5ghz. It's so insane words can't describe it.
     
  12. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    :cool: I mostly just need one so that I'm ready when I can get a copy of XP 64bit and 64bit SQL Server and the new 64bit-capable .Net :wackit:

    Right now I'm a little nervous ordering a 64bit system when all I have is 32bit XP to put on it. I need the RAID 10 array that's going into it, though :drool:
     
  13. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    you can install suse or freebsd. I know they are 64bit compatible. XP 64 is really fast though. If you go to the windows web site xp64 page there is some info on getting a copy of xp64 when you buy certain 64 bit procs. I'de check it out. Maybe you can score an evaluation copy like mine :)
     
  14. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Yeah, I tried that, I think I'll just have them download a copy and burn it to a DVD for me from our MSDN subscription ;)
     

Share This Page