RAID Experts get in here...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dtfromep, May 8, 2006.

  1. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    I have been searching everywhere I can think of to find a software raid-5 solution that supports capacity expansion (the windows server 2003 version apparently will not do this - but feel free to correct me if I am wrong).

    Basically, what I am looking to do is configure my (currently 4) 320GB SATA drives into a raid-5 array, but plan on adding more drives as needed (without losing the existing data). I am open to non-windows solutions, or even some hardware options if they are reasonably priced for 8 or more SATA ports.

    Thanks in advance for the advice!
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,361
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Doesn't software raid 5 KILL the CPU?
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. RAID 3 is much more processor-friendly, though the cheapest hardware-accelerated RAID controller > the best software RAID.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    define "reasonably priced"
     
  5. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    To answer all of the above, I am not worried about CPU usage - the processor is fast enough and the system's sole purpose is to get data from the soon-to-be raid array onto a gigabit network.

    Reasonably priced (for a non-business environment) would be the $300-$400 range if it will take more than 6 or 8 drives. Performance is not an issues, as these will be larger less-freqently accessed files, I just can't afford to mirror them (though maybe it would be cheaper if HW raid is the only way to go??).
     

Share This Page