raid + ata/133 at the same time?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MP, Feb 5, 2004.

  1. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    My motherboard has a promise RAID controller built into it as well as the standard ata/133 plugs. What I'm going for is my master HD on the regular ata, and my two 80gb hd's on the raid (raid0) controller.

    not sure if it allows this so I figured i'de ask first to see what ya'll thought. I tried searching but couldn't find this specific of a question.

    thanks
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yeah, both controlers work at the same time no problem.
     
  3. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    cool, i'll probably give that a shot tonight when I get home from the gym. Just needed some sort of confirmation that it can be done.

    thanks
     
  4. alreadyDEAD

    alreadyDEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vegas / colo spgs
    Be aware, that in a RAID0 setup, if one drive dies, both (or all) drives in that array will lose all their data.
     
  5. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley

    dvd burner = teh win
     
  6. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    woo hoo, got it to work.

    Of course it didn't work right away but I'm glad I stuck with it :)

    set up goes as follows

    Primary IDE: 40gb hd
    Primary Slave: None
    Secondary IDE: dvd burner
    Secondary Slave: None
    Array 1: Striped (raid0) two 80gb hdd's

    weeee

    :joshers:
     

Share This Page