Quick question regarding subwoofer cable

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by amill94, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,114
    Likes Received:
    325
    Hey guys. I rearranged my setup and need to relocate my sub further away from my equipment. I only have a 12 foot subwoofer cable. Will I loose quality if I buy another 12 foot cable and use an rca barrel connector to connect the two together? I need about 20 feet...and the largest I can find anywhere locally is 18ft.
     
  2. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    Im not exactly sure if the sound quality would be effected if you used an RCA barrel, however I myself would probably feel a lot better using a single subwoofer interconnect cable.

    http://www.bdcable.com/subwoofer-cable.htm u can order one clear up to 90 feet, I suggest getting a 25 foot cable so u got some slack to work with.

    I also suggest looking at the subwoofer set up procedure in the read here first stickied thread. (I never tried the y-adaptor method in step though)
     
  3. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    You will not notice any difference in sound quality, but for aesthetic purposes I'd rather have one continuous cable.
     
  4. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,471
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    I've had noise problems with those barrel connectors before. I prefer to avoid them if all possible.

    It may have been just a faulty connector, but I'd rather just forget about them.
     
  5. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Noise problems from a barrel connector? I'm not sure if that makes sense. What about it would introduce any audible amount of noise?
     
  6. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    yeah, if theres a connection theres a connection, if there isnt there isnt, not sure how noise would be introduced unless the connector was somehow placed near something that would create intereference of some sort :dunno:
     
  7. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,471
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Like I said it might have been a broken connector. I just got a nasty hum whenever I used it. So I just try and stay away from them entirely and make the issue moot.
     
  8. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Weird.
     
  9. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    just buy a new longer cable on ebay, it would probably be just as much to buy a new cable and connector locally. I got a used, but good as new 30' RCA brand subwoofer cable with Y adapter on ebay for $13 shipped.
     
  10. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    good deal
     
  11. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,114
    Likes Received:
    325
    I did some rearranging and managed to get an 18' cable to fit. I picked up a monster cable subwoofer cable for $18 and some change. The new placement is great. Thanks for the input.
     
  12. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    yeah, being inventive is a good thing in times of short cable
     

Share This Page