Quick Question regarding DSL Issue

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LBZ, Sep 17, 2003.

  1. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    OK, I have a P4 2.4ghz 512mb RAM. I'm currently using DSL through an ISP called Surf City Networks.

    2 weeks ago I bought a new hard disk, installed Win 2000 and reinstalled my old Hard Disk as a second drive. Note: I did not format the old drive prior to reinstall. I did format once I pulled some old files & docs over.

    When I got the new version of DSL up and running, I downloaded Imesh (P2P software) and installed it. Since then I noticed a lot of activity on my DSL Modem. I deleted Imesh suspecting that was the problem, however the activity remained. I then used a packet sniffer and found that the issue was outbound traffic looked like it was requesting something from my ISP (don't have exacts, not at my computer at the moment). My ISP (little company) doesn't seem to think it's on their end, and is in fact a virus... Any ideas what I should do? (Based on the crappy info above?)

    Second, how do you format a drive that windows is operating on. It always says that this drive is in use, then asks if I want to dismount the drive, which it doesn't let me do...

    Thanks.
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You cannot format a drive you are currently using. You have to boot from a DOS disk.

    If you really want to start over then I would back up all the files you want to keep. Insert your Win2k disc and reboot. Once in the install delete the current partiton and then create a new one. This will insure that all old info is removed. Once you get the new install up make sure you install a firewall and antivirus BEFORE you hook it back up to the DSL.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Well, I took a closer look at the traffic on my Packet activity last night and what I found was a little odd to me... It looks as though my computer is sending some type of request to sequenced IP addresses.

    For example I see activity from my IP 66.113.30.40 (not exact, but anyway..) then it sends to 66.113.30.41..
    then 66.113.30.42, and so on in order...no responses just ongoing and in order? Any idea what I might be looking at here? Virus???
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  5. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Thanks, I will try that when I get home!!!
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Let us know if it works. :cool:
     
  7. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    :bowdown: will do. If this works, I won't have to re-install again... :x:
     
  8. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Rob,

    You are the man!!! :bowdown: :bowdown: It was the Welchia Worm. Cleaned it up and it looks as though things are running smoothly again!!! Thanks! :bigthumb:
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :cool:

    Rob IS the man, isn't he. :o
     
  10. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I only knew that because I have seen this problem a couple times here at school.


    Just a couple. :o
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I :knockonwood: have never come across Blaster. :dunno:
     
  12. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    It's weird, cause it was just sending packets to IP Addresses on the domain. Guess it was looking for a connection or something...
     
  13. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It's looking to spread.
     

Share This Page